About Us

We are a not-for-profit organisation, a registered charity promoting excellence, safety and leadership in plastic and reconstructive surgery.

Our focus on clinical excellence and the best possible care for patients, underpins our mission to tackle community-wide health issues.

We rely on the latest evidence to inform our work.

We are proud of our leadership in advancing plastic and reconstructive surgery education, research and innovation. 



Erin Mc Cabe

Erin Mc Cabe has spent the last six years running her own consultancy business, in addition to over fifteen years of senior management roles across a variety of industries. Over her career, she has assisted numerous small to medium sized enterprises, across multiple sectors, with project and business operations management. Erin has been supporting the Foundation over the last two years to develop and strengthen their Remote Wound Program and is delighted to now join the team as the Acting CEO.

Our Board

Dr Richard Barnett AM MBBS (Sydney) FRACS FACS

Dr Richard Barnett has over 40 years’ experience as a Specialist Plastic Surgeon. His past appointments include Chairman of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons’ Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery and Senior Examiner. He served as President of the Australian Society of Plastic Surgeons (1997-2000).

Dr Howard Klein Director MD FRACS FRCSC FACS

Dr Howard Klein is a Specialist Plastic Surgeon in New Zealand. He served as the President of the New Zealand Association of Plastic Surgeons (2009-2012).

David Nathan LLB BSc

Mr David Nathan holds dual degrees in Law and Science and has held a number of senior corporate leadership positions. He is Chairman of RSL Australia, Chairman of CHA SMG Australia, owners of the City Fertility Centre Group, Chairman Wotton +Kearney, a Director of Campbell Page, and a Director of Momentum Life. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Dr Garry Buckland Director B. Med. (Hons) FRACS

Dr Garry Buckland is a Specialist Plastic Surgeon. He served on the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons NSW Training Committee in Plastic Surgery (1999-2006) and the Council of the Australian Society of Plastic Surgeons (2006- 2015), also serving as Chairman of the ASPS Ethics Committee. He served on the Avant Advisory Committee from 2011 to 2015.

Professor Hugh Bartholomeusz OAM RFD MB.BS. FRACS

Professor Hugh Bartholomeusz is currently Vice Chancellor of Oceania University of Medicine. He served as the President of the Australian Society of Plastic Surgeons (2015-2016). His appointments also included the Chairmanship of the Australian Day Surgery Council. He has served as a commissioned officer in the Royal Australian Air Force since 1972 and holds the retired rank of Air Vice-Marshal. He is a former Surgeon General Australian Defence Forces Reserves and is the past Chairman of the Australian Air Force Cadets National Council.

Our Corporate Members

  • Australian Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS)
  • Australasian Society of Aesthetic Plastic Surgeons (ASAPS)
  • New Zealand Association of Plastic Surgeons (NZAPS)